Awards go ahead without pomp and ceremony

Awards go ahead without pomp and ceremony

'These athletes and volunteers … act as role models and ambassadors, not only for their chosen sport but also to our wider community'.

The Hakoah U16 boys’ are the 2019 Maccabi NSW Team of the Year.
The Hakoah U16 boys’ are the 2019 Maccabi NSW Team of the Year.

CIRCUMSTANCES forced Maccabi NSW to part with its tradition of hosting a presentation for its annual Jewish Sports Awards, but the winners for the 2019 calendar year were announced last Sunday by president Lauren Ehrlich, who said, “We are thrilled to honour and identify them.”

In a message to Maccabi members, Ehrlich noted “the unusual and challenging times with COVID-19”, but stressed, “We will get to the other side and emerge stronger.

“We are fortunate still to be able to recognise the outstanding achievements of members of our community” through these awards.

“These athletes and volunteers … act as role models and ambassadors, not only for their chosen sport but also to our wider community.”

Sportswoman of the Year

Jessica Fox won the Mick Brandon Trophy.

In 2019, the canoe slalom world number one ranked female athlete won the women’s World Cup series and the Australian Open single kayak final. She came first in the single canoe final at the Oceania Championships and first in the canoe slalom teams final (with her sister Noemie) at the World Championships, and then won silvers in the single kayak and single canoe World Championships finals. 

Sportsman of the Year

Steven Solomon won the Lou Rose Trophy.

Solomon came first in the men’s 400m final at the 2019 Australian Track and Field Championships. He led the Australian men’s 4x400m relay team to seventh place at the World Relay Championships in Japan and 14th place at the World Championships in Doha. Also at the Worlds, he made the men’s 400m semi-final, finishing 20th overall with a season PB of 45.54 seconds. He also served as co-captain of the Australian Athletics Team.

Junior Sportswoman of the Year

Isabella Coghlan won the Nahum Opit Memorial Trophy.

A talented endurance swimmer, Coghlan came first in the women’s North Bondi Roughwater Swim. She came second in the women’s field in the Cole Classic 5km Ocean Swim and first in the 16-19 girls’ division, and posted top five finishes in her age division in the 5km and 7.5km races at the Australian Open Water Championships.

Junior Sportsman of the Year

Yonatan Freund won the Leo Kellerman Trophy.

In 2019, Freund won gold in the karate kumite junior men’s individual under 76kg division events at both the NSW and Australian Karate Championships.

He also won gold at the Sydney All Styles Karate tournament, came first in his division’s teams final at the nationals, and won bronze at the nationals in the open junior men’s event.

Masters Sportswoman of the Year 

Barbara Shotland won the Phyllis Glasser Trophy.

In women’s bowls at Eastern Suburbs District level, Shotland was the singles runner-up, the Pennant division 1 winner, senior pairs winner (with Pam Stein), and was in the winning regional and state senior fours Easts team. She won gold in the pairs event at the Maccabi Interstate Bowls Carnival, skipped the winning Double Bay team in the District Shield, and made it through to the last 16 at the 2019 Australian Open.

Masters Sportsman of the Year 

Bert Rosenberg, who recently passed away, was posthumously awarded the Percy Weinstein Memorial Trophy.

Rosenberg won the 2019 Australian Seniors Tennis Championships 85+ men’s title and represented Australia at the Pan American Maccabi Games in Mexico. He gained an Australian 85+ men’s singles ranking of sixth, and an 85+ men’s international singles ranking of 45 and a doubles ranking of 19.

Maccabi All Abilities Award

The winner was Australian Paralympian swimmer Matthew Levy.

Maccabi Club Awards

The Louis Platus Trophy winner for Club Administrator of the Year was Howard Silver (tenpin bowling).

Adam Karras (touch football) received the Maccabi NSW Leadership Award.

The AJN Award for Club of the Year went to Maccabi NSW Golf Club.

The Hakoah U16 boys’ football team, which won the 2019 NPL1 NSW U16s premiership, received the York Family Award for Team of the Year.

Maccabi Volunteer Awards

Awards for 5+ years’ service went to: Clive Sher (basketball), Leanne Michaelson (netball), Kirsten Miller (netball), Athol Chiert (junior football) and Salina Jamani (junior football).

Emily Koltai (All Abilities Program) received an Outstanding Contribution award.

Ed Wayne (basketball) received an award for 10+ years’ service.

Lifetime Contribution Award recipients were: Howard Silver (tenpin bowling), Ronnie Lang (tenpin bowling), Myer Zamek (tenpin bowling) and Dave Myers (rugby).

read more: